The Lisa Wilson Varsity Cup match

Southampton University beat Southampton Institute 1-0 in a competitive match that was attended by over 750 spectators. The game was played on March 15th – Lisa’s birthday – at the Sparshatt Stadium, Eastleigh FC’s home ground. The weather could have been kinder but it didn’t dampen the spirits of the spectators who got behind their teams to cheer them on. The trophy was presented to the winning captain by none other than ‘Le God’ himself Matthew Le Tissier. He also presented Uni keeper Inigo Sarriegui with a bottle of bubbly for the ‘man of the match’. The game followed earlier games in the day of rugby and hockey in which the University took a clean sweep of all three events. It is hoped that the fixture will take place again next year at Eastleigh.

The game raised over £2000 for the charity.

Southampton University ran out 1-0 winners pictured, above with the Lisa Wilson Varsity Cup and ‘Le God’ himself Matt Le Tissier

Valiant losers Southampton Institute with Matty

First students recieve their bursaries

At a moving ceremony at Southampton Institute carried out on October 7th four students received the first part of their annual bursary from the Lisa Wilson Scholarship Award. The bursaries were presented by Lisa’s mum Tricia Wilson who was joined by her husband Clive and her brothers Scott and Ross along with Kelly Wilson, Lisa’s sister-in-law. Around twenty people attended the ceremony including Geeta Uppal, Widening Participation Officer from the Institute, who has given so much to the organisation of these awards. Tom Thomas Dean of Southampton Institute Business School said a few words about the Fund and the benefits it would bring to students and introduced Clive Wilson who wished the students every success; he said “Lisa would be proud to know that she had helped¬† these students further their education and achieve their University dream just like she had done.”


Pictured from left to right, Kirsty Baulcomb, Charlotte Field, Clive and Tricia Wilson, Lucie Jones and James Denyer.

First recipients of the Lisa Wilson Scholarship Award.